Notice of Annual General Meeting

EKC is different from other financial institutions because our leadership is from a local Board of Directors. Each of the Board members is passionate about the East Kootenay and dedicated to the future of EKC and its members.

The Board of Directors is an elected group of individuals who are members, just like you, and generously give their time and energy to steer the present and help unfold the future. Every year, an election is held, and every adult member has the right to cast a vote and run for a seat on the board if they choose.

2017 Board Members Acclaimed

Acclaimed Directors for 2017 are:

  • George Freitag
  • Don Holt
  • Diane Byford
  • Lynnette Wray

2016 Board Members Acclaimed

Jean-Ann Debreceni

I have been a director for six terms. During this time I have held the post of chair and vice-chair. I have lived in Cranbrook since 1977 and have been a credit union member all of my working life. My family has been involved in credit unions and co-ops for three generations.

I was in small business for 26 years but now am retired and do some work for a non-profit society. I also volunteer with community theatre and spend as much time in my garden as possible.

Barb Nunes

I have been a resident and Director of Finance for Sparwood since 1995. I moved here from Lake Cowichan, where I was also a credit union member.

I’ve been part of numerous volunteer groups over the years, most recently working with the Elk Valley Seniors Housing Society to obtain grant funding for the Lilac Terrace expansion. I am an enthusiastic gardener and relax with books and needlecrafts.

I am enthused about the opportunity to be part of the Board and hope to make a useful contribution in meeting the challenges that are being sent our way.

Cindy Corrigan

  • has retired from the EKC board after nine years of service

    EKC Elkford Branch turns 20…and the AGM is heading there!

    1994 Highlights Forest Gump was released, Friends was on TV, Nelson Mandela became president, and EKC Elkford opened!

    Elkford was in trouble at the time. One of the mines in the Elk Valley had recently gone bankrupt. Another large mine had an eight month strike. The only bank in town was closing their door.

    The Elkford community asked EKC to open a branch. Residents needed a place to cash cheques, get mortgages, and rebuild their credit. The credit union understood that being part of a community means Together through life™. The decision to open a branch was based on a need… It was just Common Sense™.

    Twenty years later EKC has grown with Elkford, grown with the East Kootenay and grown because of you.

    Photos from the EKC Annual General Meeting April 17, 2013

    Directors Acclaimed and Appointed for Three-Year Terms





    Mark Spittael
    Born and raised in Mechelen, Belgium, I graduated college in 1989 (modern languages). I worked with Deutsche Bank Corporate Banking Brussels 1989–2004.

    My family and I came to Elkford in 2005 becoming Canadian citizens in 2010. I am the owner operator of High Standard Contracting in Elkford. I have been an EKC member since 2005 and would like to use my skills to serve my community and the Credit Union.

    Lynne Shewchuk
    I was born and raised in Cranbrook and with my husband raised our family here. I am a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) and worked for Dunwoody and Co. for six years, College of the Rockies for 19 years, including 10 as Bursar, and retired in 2005.

    I was a board member for the Cranbrook and District Chamber of Commerce, and am currently on the board of the Community Campus Children’s Society and Chair of the EK Seniors Coalition. I’ve served one term on the EKCCU Board.

    As a member for many years, I have enjoyed the opportunity to become more involved with the Credit Union. The excellent Credit Union board development courses and my experience for the past three years gives me a good understanding of my responsibilities and the commitment required to be an effective board member.

    Jose Galdamez - Appointed
    I have been a member of the Cranbrook community for nearly 13 years, and the proud father of three wonderful children.

    I volunteered with Cranbrook Minor soccer as a rep/house coach and vice chair for over ten years. During this time I had the pleasure to meet and interact with many community members.

    I am presently employed as a GIS (Geographic Information Systems) Analyst and have been in the business for nearly twenty years. I have a passion for technology and information management, and wish to use my knowledge and skills to better serve this wonderful community and the Credit Union.

    I am looking forward to this new and exciting opportunity.

    Introducing Gordon McArthur

    EKC is proud to present Gordon McArthur. Gordon will speak on his journey to the 2014 Olympics in Russia. Competitive ice climbing will be featured as a demonstration sport. His training and commitment will be driven by representing Canada on the greatest most extravagant stage possible. Dedicated to what it takes, his goal will be to ascend the podium on such a stage. Gord will talk on his sport, his passion, his support and what it takes to succeed.

    Find Branch/ATM

    Enter address, postal code or branch name